Monday Power Short – May 2, 2016

 

Monochrome Dawn

 

The Romantic Mini-Holiday

Bobbing in the boat at dawn Mary yawned.  She remembered all his talk about a romantic mini holiday to Lake Garda.  She’d looked at the brochures he’d brought home and absorbed countless on-line videos.  She’d imagined walks along tree-shaded beached, hand in hand or sipping wine in side-walk cafes.  She hadn’t imagined fishing in the cold dawn.

They weren’t alone on the lake.  All around them floated ducks and coots, they too fishing.

Mary heard a hearty “Bwahahahaha!” of ducky laughter nearby. All went black and then she contemplated Steven bobbing in the water, spluttering.  She’d given him a mighty push.

© G.s.k. ‘16

 

A Power Short –  try to write a complete short story as short as possible. They should have a beginning, middle, and end, showing some change in a character due to an apparent or implied conflict.

 

 

About Bastet

I love to read...I like to write...I've travelled the world and seen the sites. I'm past my prime and feel so young, especially when near the young. I'm writing this blog, to remember, to think and to share...with the hopes that someone else will make a comment that will stimulate new thoughts and pathways. Actually, I'm a gabber, so the logical extension of gabbing is blogging! ;-)
This entry was posted in Power Shorts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Monday Power Short – May 2, 2016

  1. Pingback: Monday Power Short – May 2, 2016 | Bastet and Sekhmet's Library

  2. Oliana says:

    Oh I so enjoyed this!! Is this another prompt you are hosting, cara? I love flash fictions!! I must get back into this now that April (sigh!) is over.

  3. Bastet says:

    Hi Oliana … No, I tried prompting but seems no one links up – this is just a personal write without prompt, I am glad you liked it though and if you want to try a power short, I wouldn’t mind if you linked-up with me 😉

silence is golden, words pearls of wisdom...your comments are treasured!

