Hidden Visions – Haibun – February 16, 2016

I walk through the  town square and it occurs to me that all these tourists snapping their photographs and drinking their drinks at the side-walk cafes are completely oblivious to the cares and worries of our daily lives.  We walk in different dimensions.

They’ll never know about the terrible divorce between Martina and Giulio.  They’re the owners of this  gelateria the tourists love so much.  Once they were considered to be the ideal couple, so in love and so happy,  by one and all. They’d kept their secret well even from us … and then it all fell apart.  But they keep the gelateria* open and the tourists know nothing of the price Martina and Giulio pay each day as they smile and serve up their ice-cream treats.

Ah, there’s Nando, whistling down the street over there.  He serves drinks at the discotheque.  Everyone enjoys his jokes and easy manner he’s really popular with the visitors.  Everyone admires him,  but not his wife. She hasn’t had the opportunity of seeing that aspect of him in quite some time.  Nando’s social drinking has gone too far and now he drinks his pay check up before he even gets it home, unfortunately he feels guilty about this so he beats his wife because she complains.

Here there are many stories hidden behind all the windows and shop fronts in our town square.  All go unheeded by the visitors as they ooh and ah over our beautiful architecture and tidy streets with their pretty flower arrangements. Our image too is clean and tidy, so they never see us at all.

hidden visions
lurking behind polished glass
untold stories

© G.s.k. ‘16

Mindlovesmisery’s Menagerie – Photo Challenge #10

*gelateria is the name of an ice-cream parlour in Italy.

About Bastet

I love to read...I like to write...I've travelled the world and seen the sites. I'm past my prime and feel so young, especially when near the young. I'm writing this blog, to remember, to think and to share...with the hopes that someone else will make a comment that will stimulate new thoughts and pathways. Actually, I'm a gabber, so the logical extension of gabbing is blogging! ;-)
This entry was posted in Haibun (Prose Poetry and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Hidden Visions – Haibun – February 16, 2016

  1. Pingback: Hidden Visions – Haibun – February 16, 2016 | Bastet and Sekhmet's Library

  2. julespaige says:

    This reminds me of the town I stayed at in the summer of 2000. A town on a hill with two different ‘Springs’ parks where one had to pay to get in and drink the (mineral) water. To help ease the their constitutions from all the rich Italian foods. I remember the little town on the top of the hill…
    There was a small circular town square. A church and shops lined the rim… and the one road up….From between the buildings were little stair cases all of stone – leading up to the private homes. And whatever stories might be held captive and captivating behind the walls…

    Thanks for your visit… I made some adjustments.

    • Bastet says:

      Oh yeah Fiuggi is famous and I’ve actually been there years ago! Very nice place indeed (and who knows the stories behind those windows.)

      • julespaige says:

        I had a family member who sent me a shoe…to take to Italy with me so I could get a pair of the same size from a local shoe maker…if available. While hubby was working, just actually perhaps a few buildings from where we were staying – I found such a shop on my first full day of exploring (alone)! I also went to the very large public pool. But one had to wear a bathing cap. That isn’t a requirement in the states. I had to buy one.

      • Bastet says:

        I think it’s harder now days to find these shoe maker shops .. we’re losing many of the old trades here too. As for the bathing caps, they’re still usually required wherever you go … and some people get miffed if they aren’t as they consider it anti-hygienic.

      • julespaige says:

        I guess I can understand in a public pool… hair can clog filters. But are bathing caps required in the oceans or seas?

        Too many ‘Mom and Pop’ stores have vanished here too.

      • Bastet says:

        No no, just in pools, it would really be weird if they were obligatory in the sea – though some people do wear the rubbery bathing caps to protect their hair from the salt. Takes all kinds I guess.

        Yes, I noticed when I was back visiting in the States that the franchises are killing the individual entrepreneurs … especially those monstrous affairs like Walmarts.

      • julespaige says:

        There is a local joke that the founder of Walmart… Sam Walton would be rolling around sadly in his grave if he knew what was happening. I occasionally shop at one, but only the one that used an existing store footprint.

        Some folks though do benefit from the pricing, but some of ‘their’ hiring and employment practices have been legally questioned.

      • Bastet says:

        I’ve read and heard about Walmart as well as the fact that the founder of the stores wouldn’t have been best pleased about what’s happened to his creature. I’ve also seen and heard about their hiring and employment practices .. it’s a shame that those who should, do nothing to correct these unethical practices. I know that the dirt low prices keep a lot of people going .. and again, it seems that a lot of their merchandise is low quality (and most everything made in China) – it’s a difficult situation at best.

  3. I loved this haibun Georgia, the description of the shops and the connection to the people was so very engaging, so well done.

  4. CPP says:

    thanks for such a wonderful contribution to the photo challenge this week Georgia 🙂

    I think you’ve incorporated another aspect and dimension – the untold stories – very well and engagingly, with just enough insight and commentary – while still being “distant” – like a “snap shot”

    cheers ~ Pat

    • Bastet says:

      A lovely comment Pat .. your choice of photo was certainly intriguing and pushed my muse to search out how best to work with such an abstract idea. Cheers, Georgia.

silence is golden, words pearls of wisdom...your comments are treasured!

