Mountain Walking – Haibun – January 15, 2016

Olive Grove in Campo

to the olive grove
ten minutes as a crow flies
fond memories

When you’re fit climbing up the side of a mountain is paradise.  The very air seems to help you up, your heart of course increases its beat and maybe your breath comes quicker and soon dopamine starts pumping through your veins. If the hike up is a real challenge finally adrenaline joins the cocktail of hormones and whatever else is making that walk fun, is it a wonder that walking can become addictive. Time flashes by as you fall into your own breath, feel your leg muscles flexing and elongating, hear the sound around you sort of muffled but very much alive.  Before you know it, you’ve reached your goal, maybe a lodge where you’ll spend the night, or a land-mark, like an abandoned village or a cross on a hill-top and you think how quickly time flies by when you’re having fun.

imagination
dishes up fond memories
back in training

© G.s.k. ‘16

Heeding Haiku With Chèvrefeuille, January 13th 2016

About Bastet

I love to read...I like to write...I've travelled the world and seen the sites. I'm past my prime and feel so young, especially when near the young. I'm writing this blog, to remember, to think and to share...with the hopes that someone else will make a comment that will stimulate new thoughts and pathways. Actually, I'm a gabber, so the logical extension of gabbing is blogging! ;-)
This entry was posted in Haibun (Prose Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Mountain Walking – Haibun – January 15, 2016

  1. Time really does fly when you’re out there communing with Nature.

  2. Paloma says:

    Back in training indeed!
    I miss my mountain walks … sigh…
    Lovely piece, Bastet 🙂

    • Bastet says:

      I’d allowed myself to get really lazy over the past year or so and now I’m struggling with the weight and loss of muscle tone … I’m trying to rectify all that and quit smoking. The project is taking a toll on my writing though … I get really tired and can even fall asleep typing! I might have to add at least caffeine to my diet …

      • Paloma says:

        I can imagine … it’s a lot to tackle all at once. But again, I’m proud of you 🙂

      • Bastet says:

        I’ve gone into scientific papers to see how all this works .. nicotine addiction, alcohol addiction, caffeine addiction, food addiction and of course your regular run of the mill heroine and cocaine addictions all hook into the same neurotransmitters – all share the common feature that they can modulate the brain reward system that is fundamental to initiating and maintaining behaviours important for survival (e.g., eating, sexual activity). Interesting stuff to look into – also thanks to my English Conversation class I’ve come across a plausible explanation for the obesity epidemic that’s becoming really very worrisome. And it all may be due to bad science and vested interest of the processed food manufacturers of the world.

      • Paloma says:

        “Follow the money” , right?

  3. Suzanne says:

    I like the idea of getting the imagination back in training. I’ve been trying to get back into exercise too. It is worth it but it is tiring.

    • Bastet says:

      Yes … I’ve got a lot on my plate and then have odd moments of laziness .. like today – when i get absolutely nothing done.

      • Suzanne says:

        I couldn’t get motivated on Sunday either. Today is looking more positive.

      • Bastet says:

        I got some writing done, but now I want to get out and do some walking … so hopefully when I get home, I’ll do some reading!

      • Suzanne says:

        I hope your day passes pleasantly. Is it very cold over there?

      • Bastet says:

        Hiya Suzanne .. yesterday was warm and sunny .. I passed a very pleasant day indeed – today is really cold … it was minus 7°C the sun is out and the temps have risen to around plus 6°C not warm but a great leap anyway. I just got home … it was less pleasant walking this morning. 😉

      • Suzanne says:

        Brrr- I have never been in such a cold temperature. I can’t imagine going out walking in it. Over here I’m waiting for the day to cool down before I go out for a walk. Then again – I have really good book to read – some days it is hard to get motivated. 🙂

      • Bastet says:

        Don’t I know how hard it is to get motivated at times … here when it’s really cold I’d gladly stay curled up under my duvet with a good book. And once I get started reading, it’s the end, I’ve got to see what’s going to happen next! 😉

      • Suzanne says:

        I’m reading short stories again – haven’t done that for years – at least the stories end quickly and I can get up and do something afterwards 🙂 – I just made a blog post of photos about how dry it is down here – there’s no haiku tho but you might like to contrast my walking conditions with yours 🙂 http://artifactsandfictions.com/2016/01/21/dry/

      • Bastet says:

        A brilliant idea (reading short stories) and thanks for the link .. I’m forever having problems getting ’round to reading other’s blogs if not linked to a prompt (for which I’m so sorry because there are oodles of things I like to read when i do get ’round!).

silence is golden, words pearls of wisdom...your comments are treasured!

