Haibun Monday – Winter Trek – January 13, 2016

Roman Road

The old Roman road is well kept, as usually is the case throughout Italy, but steeper than my unfit legs can comfortably walk.  Other steep hillside Roman roads come to mind … walks in spring and summer even a few trails visited in autumn. The hills remain the same but the trekker grows distracted.  Huffing and puffing I finally arrive at my destination, an abandoned village on a steep hillside overlooking Lake Garda.  The gate keeper’s hut is empty but oh, how splendid the persimmons glow in the sunlight.

along the trail
memories pass and fade
winter odyssey

© G.s.k. ‘16

dVerse ~ Poets Pub Haibun Monday – 5

 

About Bastet

I love to read...I like to write...I've travelled the world and seen the sites. I'm past my prime and feel so young, especially when near the young. I'm writing this blog, to remember, to think and to share...with the hopes that someone else will make a comment that will stimulate new thoughts and pathways. Actually, I'm a gabber, so the logical extension of gabbing is blogging! ;-)
This entry was posted in Haibun (Prose Poetry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Haibun Monday – Winter Trek – January 13, 2016

  1. I feel like I’m walking along with you — this is great writing.

  2. The reward was worth the trek. Not a case of the journey being more important than the destination.

  3. Ah.. the mind..
    Oh.. the body..
    Wow.. the balance..

    Mountain
    low
    Valley hiGh..:)

  4. Grace says:

    Such is the winter’s odyssey if memories come and fade ~ Enjoyed your haibun ~

  5. Every single phrase stands alone as a marvelous poetic tidbit.

  6. Cheryl-Lynn says:

    What a surprise to find you on this new blog! I love the theme, cara! Such a lovely prose and your last sentence is so so you! Brava, cara!

    • Bastet says:

      🙂 Thanks … ‘ve decided to write my prose here (if I remember to do so, this morning I wrote my Heeding Haiku haibun on the library, but I copied it here too and then posted it.) Thanks for dropping in!

      • Cheryl-Lynn says:

        It is a GREAT idea, cara! I was thinking of starting a new blog or narratives …I have to rethink what I want to do since I already have so many blogs…maybe set up something with all in one place with tabs in the menu that bring you to that site. Sort of what I use with my working blog…two sites to have one for each language.

      • Bastet says:

        I know what you mean about having so many blogs … but this one was relatively empty so I went for it … I’m trying to keep them linked with the blog roll … using the links to get back and forth between the three blogs … but it doesn’t seem to work very well .. for some reason, the blog roll I put on the narrative blog disappeared.

  7. Bodhirose says:

    I enjoyed that scenic walk even with that steep climb. I fear I would be huffing and puffing too. 🙂 The journey was worth it. I like your haiku that references the passing memories and the winter odyssey.

  8. Mary says:

    What a beautiful destination! Such journeys are worth it, even though they take effort. I walked to the top of Diamond Head (Hawaii) a few years back. Wouldn’t do it again, but I am so glad to have accomplished it!

  9. Such difference in winter between yours and mine.. Here it’s arctic right now.. Snow and ice… Loved to be on that walk on those old roads with you.

  10. Snakypoet (Rosemary Nissen-Wade) says:

    I love the brightness of those persimmons! You made it real and immediate.

silence is golden, words pearls of wisdom...your comments are treasured!

