“…to cease these tears” – Short Fiction – January 12, 2016

fenced-yard

“Wait wait, where would you go?”
“Anywhere would do, just to cease these tears.”
“Would you accept anything my friend?”
The feeling of frustration grew, because he knew, he couldn’t accept just anything.  To cease the tears of daughter’s hunger he could choose life or death. With each day that passed, he feared that his choice would soon be, which death to choose from.
He looked at his friend, “No, I cannot accept just anything, I will wait.”

G.s.k. ‘16

5 Words | WAIT | MEET | TEAR | ACCEPT | CEASE |
the secret keeper: Protect the Children #18

About Bastet

I love to read...I like to write...I've travelled the world and seen the sites. I'm past my prime and feel so young, especially when near the young. I'm writing this blog, to remember, to think and to share...with the hopes that someone else will make a comment that will stimulate new thoughts and pathways. Actually, I'm a gabber, so the logical extension of gabbing is blogging! ;-)
This entry was posted in Short Fiction and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to “…to cease these tears” – Short Fiction – January 12, 2016

  1. Good choice! Good story!

  2. Paloma says:

    Wow …. so dark, except for a glimmer of help at the end ….

  3. Yes, I’m thinking a slow backbeat would turn this into a coffee house masterpiece. Nicely done.

  4. Cheryl-Lynn says:

    So few words that tell so much, cara! I agree with Christ, a grrreat write!

    • Bastet says:

      Thanks .. I want to go back to my prose experiments … and now that the smoking withdrawal symptoms are fading I think I’ll be back on line again more often.

      • Cheryl-Lynn says:

        Haha, it goes in three’s (be warned) 3 days, 3 weeks, 3 months…after that you may not kill anybody and if you feel like it just write a thriller fiction 😉 I am happy I found Sunday Photo fiction on your site…I want to write more shorts. A colleague is encouraging me to publish a collection.

      • Bastet says:

        I wanted to write more shorts too … seems that in 2015 I neglected that area very much … I’m helping my anti-smoking campagne along reading up on how neuro-transmitters are manipulated by addictive chemicals (heroin, cocaine, nicotine and even caffeine etc) using the brain reward system that is fundamental to initiating and maintaining behaviours important for survival. It’s one of the reasons why when you stop smoking you start to want to eat more … very interesting reading … and helps me at least keep the beast at bay. 😉

silence is golden, words pearls of wisdom...your comments are treasured!

