The Benches – June 3, 2015

A line of benches overlooking the sea

Walking down the pier that bright summer morning, I saw not a soul – nor a bird
just rows and rows of benches.  That cool bright dawn … looking out to sea I felt an invitation – come and sail with me and in the sky a single cloud stood out, beckoning.
A shiver went down my spine and I wondered – ‘where am I?’ for I’d never seen this place
in any space I’d walked ’til then.  Far off I saw a known face, the man I’d once made love to
stood watching me maybe wanting to see what I’d do.

A dream I then said to myself, nothing but a vivid dream, because he’s been gone an eternity and is no more than a thought now in this world. But I could not wake-up
no matter how I tried, and then suddenly I realized, I too had died.

© G.s.k. ‘15

Written for Sunday Photo Fiction

About Bastet

I love to read...I like to write...I've travelled the world and seen the sites. I'm past my prime and feel so young, especially when near the young. I'm writing this blog, to remember, to think and to share...with the hopes that someone else will make a comment that will stimulate new thoughts and pathways. Actually, I'm a gabber, so the logical extension of gabbing is blogging! ;-)
This entry was posted in Short Fiction and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Benches – June 3, 2015

  1. Jen says:

    Wow ….. now that is powerful. Well done, Bastet.
    You’ve carried a wonderful dreamish-nighmarish quality into this piece.

  2. Ellespeth says:

    This is fabulous! And that ending…”I could not wake-up
    no matter how I tried, and then suddenly I realized, I too had died.” That’s some word image.
    Ellespeth

silence is golden, words pearls of wisdom...your comments are treasured!

