Pronada’s Box – Fairy Tale – April 24, 2015

- Laura Makabresku

– Laura Makabresku

In the fairy world of youth, when some discover Pandora’s folly, others discover Pronada’s glory, or so I’ve been told.

Our story took place many many years ago in a nameless land of butterflies and lotus flowers.  Pronada was the ugliest gangliest girl ever seen.  Thin to the point of being a shadow, her long stringy hair excited no comments of awe;  she was awkward and graceless, which no one let her forget for a moment, including her parents, who despaired of ever finding her a husband.

Notwithstanding this, her heart was full of joyous wonder at the beautiful things of nature.Pronada often walked through the forest not far from her home.  She loved the calm beauty of the trees, the warbling happiness of the birds and the gentle wind upon her skin.

She’d never seen anyone in the forest until that day.  Coming towards her was another girl, a little older than she and almost a mirror image of herself, except that she seemed very beautiful to Pronada. The beauty was in her eyes and her smile.  Without speaking a word, she invited Pronada to follow her.

They came to a bower, where a rumpled feather bed seemed to be waiting for her to rest and Pronada feeling tired after her long walk gratefully laid down. The young woman lay beside her and began to sing a song.  Pronada, enchanted and excited, closed her eyes and began to feel an inner warmth she’d never experienced before.  She tingled from her toes to her head as the music entered her soul. Then she fell asleep, fully at peace with the world.

When she awoke, she was alone on a grassy knoll in the bright sunshine.  Butterflies flew among the flowers and the sun warmed her naked body.  She put on her clothes, perplexed that she’d taken them off before falling asleep, all the time reflecting on the wonderful dream she’d had.

As she picked up her shift to put it on, she saw a tiny golden box.  Fascinated by the shimmering glow of the box, she opened it, and marvels of marvels … out from the box came all the spirits of the wonderful things that makes life worth living.  Passion and fulfillment, love and enjoyment, beauty and poetry … but jus as  she looked closely to see what the last spirit in the box could be, a terrible spider bit her and she fell down as though dead.  The box immediately fell shut before the last spirit could enter the world and disappeared.

A full day and night passed and if you’d seen Pronada you surely would have thought that she was dead … and in a sense she was.  Like a butterfly that leaves its cocoon, Pronada, upon awakening was no longer a gangly ugly child but  a slim beautiful young woman.

Ah .. you want to know what happened to the box and what was left inside?  The box returned to the Akashic Library with its content death – which Fate decided to add to another box – but that’s another story.

© G.s.k. ‘15

linked to Mindlovemisery’s Menagerie – Photo Challenge and Fairy Tale Prompt

 

 

 

About Bastet

I love to read...I like to write...I've travelled the world and seen the sites. I'm past my prime and feel so young, especially when near the young. I'm writing this blog, to remember, to think and to share...with the hopes that someone else will make a comment that will stimulate new thoughts and pathways. Actually, I'm a gabber, so the logical extension of gabbing is blogging! ;-)
This entry was posted in Fairy Tales and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Pronada’s Box – Fairy Tale – April 24, 2015

  1. julespaige says:

    I know I felt like your Pronada – wishing to fall asleep and wake from a dream, changed.
    There are times yet that one may not feel quite as whole and beautiful as they are…

    I like your combination of prompts… and do let us know about that other story. 😉

    I know I’ve written on Pandora before. A fun ponder for sure. I did a haibun for the Fairy Tale prompt (my link is there).

    • Bastet says:

      I haven’t had a chance to look into your contribution yet! Basically my story is about Pronada entering puberty with the twist of Chèvrefeuille’s box full of everything good. I think we’ve all passed through the ugly duckling stage of life and can relate to Pronada’s state. Thanks for reading and loved your comments! And of course the other story is about Pandora’s box .. and we know how that ended! 😉

  2. phylor says:

    An excellent story. I love the ending (both for Pronada and the box with death still trapped inside.) A wonderful parable for how life should be lived — fully, joyfully, taking pleasure in the small things.

    • Bastet says:

      Thanks Phylor .. I’m glad you enjoyed my little fairy tale … it is supposed to be about puberty … that was her girl self meeting her adult self … the box I understood from the prompt still had death inside when she’s bitten by a bug (my spider) and so I used it as a device to make sure she awoke, since death was introduced to the world yet. I sent it back to eternity … where Fate creates Pandora’s box.

      • phylor says:

        I liked the image of death remaining in a box and as you suggest to be used at a later date. You have described puberty — going from gangly to graceful.

      • Bastet says:

        Actually … Chevrefeuille said that death hadn’t gotten out yet … glad you like how I describe puberty here!

      • phylor says:

        Oh dear, I thought death got out! So my contribution is way off the mark. It’s about death getting OUT of the box!

      • Bastet says:

        Ah … I hope I remember correctly … seems that she got bit by a bug, fell down as though she were dead, just before death got out of the box … but then I sometimes read prompts in my own way 😉

      • phylor says:

        No, I reread. What is the world like if death, not hope is left in the box. 🙂

      • Bastet says:

        Thanks … I reread too and wasn’t so sure anymore. 🙂

      • phylor says:

        PS: I do tend to misread prompts! Thanks for telling me how Pronada’s Box is supposed to end!
        My mood is reflected in how I read prompts, the fairy tale prompt day wasn’t the best! 🙂

      • Bastet says:

        Tell me about it … the other morning I wrote 12 haiku because I ‘read’ too fast … sigh … so perhaps it’s me that made the mistake, but anyway, I’ve decided that this is how I want the story to end. I remember that Pandora closed the box just before the last thing flew into the world, hope … so as Pronada seems to follow Pandora’s story but in the positive, my logic says … death stays in.

      • phylor says:

        As well it should — good things of the world deserve to be free of that fear. At least for a while.

      • Bastet says:

        Yes, at least for a while 🙂

  3. Jen says:

    This is such a beautiful tale — Pronada, blossoming 🙂
    And it really does have a wonderful fairy tale feel to it too — awesome 😀

    • Bastet says:

      Thanks Jen, I’m happy you enjoyed this and yes it’s actually about Pronada’s blossoming … the box represents at least to me all the beautiful promise of entering into adult life … and death go left inside the box … so Pandora’s box could be created 😉

  4. Oliana says:

    Your story is beautiful, cara, and I look forward to reading more …please, more!! This is a story I might share with my grandson too; between you, Michael and Jules I have lovely stories to read to him:D I found it also appropos d’avoir choisit le mot akasha du Sanskrit qui veut dire ciel…vraiment cela me touche since we are reading so much in the Hindi stories too.

    • Bastet says:

      🙂 thanks for the lovely compliment! I wish I had more Fairy Tales in me too! I’ve often used the Akasha Library in my Bastet and Sekhmet post … it’s where I place all the gods and knowledge etc. Not exactly what it should be …

silence is golden, words pearls of wisdom...your comments are treasured!

